Charlie Hartill Special Reserve

A fund for new theatre & comedy

What we do...

The Charlie Hartill Special Reserve is a designated, rolling fund towards the production costs of bringing selected projects to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

The purpose of the Fund is to enable financial support in the form of an investment so that the writers, directors, technicians, producers and performers of the future have an opportunity to hone their talents through the Fund's financial support in the form of an investment.

The Fund was established in 2004 in memory of Charlie Hartill, who died in January of that year.

Charlie was a wit, writer, performer, ex-President of The Cambridge Footlights, 8 years a director of the Festival Fringe and the Pleasance's man of the computer. He is very much missed not just for his practical skills and quite extraordinary contributions to the Pleasance, but as the most engaging of human beings. He laughed a lot, constantly entertaining so many of those who met him, and he liked a glass of wine. He was 32.

2017 Applications

The Fund primarily consists of two strands - the Comedy Reserve and Theatre Reserve. Applications for the Comedy Reserve are open! The deadline is the 27th February 2017.  Applications for the Theatre Reserve are now closed.

Comedy Reserve

Over the past decade, the Comedy Reserve has supported a great number of comics by providing a unique platform at the Fringe, acting as a launch pad for some of the best acts on the circuit today. After a series of try outs, 4 of the best up and coming comics are chosen to perform in a nightly show at Pleasance Edinburgh without any financial risk.

We offer successful applicants a place on the Reserve and provide accommodation, a paid subsistence and all marketing in Edinburgh.

Applications for the Comedy Reserve are now open. You can find the online aplication form here:

Applications close on the 27th Feburary 2017

Theatre Reserve

Each year the Special Reserve Fund provides a young theatre company with the rare and extraordinary opportunity to present a groundbreaking performance of a fully produced play at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. This is a fantastic opportunity for a team to be creative, innovative, imaginative and entrepreneurial in a big and exciting way. 

We award the recipient a prime slot within the Pleasance at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, mentoring from the Pleasance's team, and in-kind support up to the value of £10,000. 

Applications for the the Theatre Reserve are now closed.  The Tryouts will be held on 20 and 21 February, you can book tickets and find out more about the shortlisted companies here.

For more information about the Theatre Reserve fund please find a link to the information pack here or in the downloads section at the bottom of this page.


In 2005, Minor Irritations by Sam Peter Jackson and The Comedy Reserve (featuring Simon Brodkin, Lee Bannard, Oliver Maltman and Roisin Conaty) became the first beneficiaries of the Special Reserve and both were presented at the 2005 Festival Fringe. In November 2005 Charlie Hartill's very own Aladdin - The New Pantomime became the first production in London to receive an investment from the Special Reserve Fund.  Since then we have taken one piece of theatre and four comedy acts to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe every year.

Comedy Reserve Recipients:

2016 - Alasdair Beckett-King, Jack Carroll, Kae Kurd, Tom Lucy, Darren Harriott, George Lewis, Yuriko Kotani & Michael Stranney

2015 - Malcolm Head, Tom Little, Jamali Maddix & Joe Sutherland

2014 - Chris Betts, Evelyn Mok, Phil Jerrod & Brennan Reece

2013 - Jack Barry, John Hastings , Tez Ilyas & Tom Toal 

2012 - Suzy Bennett, John Kearns, Matt Rees & Chris Turner 

2011 - Luke Benson, Jim Campbell, Julian Dean & Joe Lycett 

2010 - Tom Goodliffe, Rhys James, Mark Restuccia & Daniel Simonsen 

2009 - Doc Brown, Pat Burtscher, Jared Hardy & Chris Stokes 

2008 - Daniel Rigby, Gareth Richards, Lou Sanders & Holly Walsh 

2007 - Benny Boot, Brett Goldstein, Jack Whitehall & Tommi Walamies 

2006 - Marlon Davis, Pippa Evans, Michael Fabbri & Stuart Hudson 

2005 - Lee Bannard, Simon Brodkin, Roisin Conaty & Oliver Maltman 

Theatre Fund Recipients:

2016 - We Are Ian - In Bed With My Brother

2015 - Molly - Squint

2014 - Lorraine & Alan - Bucket Club

2013 - Outside on the Street - Invertigo

2012 - Don Quoixte! Don Quoixte! - Panta Rei Theatre Collective

2011 - Fit for Purpose - Catherine O'Shea (Writer) / Concorde Theatre Company

2009 - A Stroke of Genius - PIT (David Bryne, Artistic Director of New Diorama Theatre)

2007 - Greedy Scratchers - Richard Marsh

2006 - The Same ... But Different - Jacob Tindle (Playwright)

2005 - Minor Irritations by Sam Peter Jackson

If you have any queries, feel free to contact us on


Donations to the fund are gratefully received and help us to continue our support of the best new talent and ideas. If you would like to donate, please email


PDF icon 2017 Charlie Hartill Pack.pdf